512.833.0111
Share

Austin Personal Injury Blog

Sunday, March 26, 2017

What are the minimum motorcycle insurance requirements in TX?

No one likes paying out hard earned money for motorcycle insurance, but unfortunately, mandatory liability coverage is a reality in Texas. All motorcycle drivers are required to prove financial responsibility in the event that they are involved in a motorcycle accident.

Proving Financial Responsibility

Most motorcycle drivers prove financial liability through the purchase of an insurance policy. However, this is not the only option for Texas motorcycle drivers. To prove financial responsibility, you may also:

  • File a surety bond with the county clerk, with two other people who own real property in Texas.
  • Deposit $55,000 with the county comptroller.
  • Deposit $55,000 with the county judge.
  • Provide a certificate of self-insurance through the Texas Department of Transportation.

Requirements for Texas Motorcycle Insurance

Motorcyclists that opt to purchase motorcycle insurance must purchase liability policies with these minimal amounts:

  • $60,000 bodily injury coverage (per accident)
  • $25,000 property damage coverage (per accident)
  • $30,000 bodily injury coverage for each injured person (per accident)

Of course, you may always opt to purchase more than the minimum insurance coverage, especially if your own motorcycle is worth a significant amount of money or you have large amounts of personal assets.

What Happens if I Don’t Have The Minimum Insurance Coverage?

If you are caught without having the minimum insurance coverage in Texas, you may face severe penalties, including:

  • Fines
  • Motorcycle Impoundment
  • License Suspension

Law enforcement and Department of Transportation employees may verify insurance through TexaSure, an online insurance verification program created by Texas lawmakers. Your insurance provider is required to submit insurance information to this system.

If your insurance lapses, you may receive a notice from the Texas Department of Transportation letting you know your options. If you receive a suspension notice, you may appeal.

If your license is suspended due to failure to carry the minimum liability insurance, you may have the suspension lifted if you can provide proof of current liability coverage and pay the reinstatement fees, which range from $175 to $350.

Motorcycle insurance protects both you and other drivers on the road. If you are involved in a motorcycle accident, you need an experienced motorcycle accident attorney on your side. Don't go it alone. Call our office today at 1-800-35-TEXAS for a free consultation.

 


Archived Posts

2018
2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February



© 2018 Tony Nguyen Law Firm, PLLC | Disclaimer
314 E. Highland Mall Blvd., Austin, TX 78752
| Phone: 512.833.0111 | 1.800.35.Texas

About Us | Staff Profiles | Video Faqs | Practice Areas

Law Firm Website Design by
Amicus Creative